top of page

Towy Riders Club Championship 2014

Towy Riders Youth Cycling club held their first ever official club championships last weekend at the brand new circuit located at Queen Elizabeth High School in Carmarthen. Up for grabs was the title of Club Champion for 2014. The event consisted of an individual time trial around a lap of the one kilometre circuit, then a circuit race in the separate age categories.

The club was fortunate with the weather, which was dry and sunny, providing the riders, parents and supporters with fast and exciting racing. There were a very large number of entries, especially in the under 8s’ and under 10’s which bodes well for the club. With victory in both the time trial and circuit race Will Davies won the under 8 boys with Rory Gravell second and Sion Jones third. Amy Greatrick mixed it with the boys and came away as under 8 girls club champion, with Lona Harding Jones second and Efa Thomas third.

The under 10’s provided extremely close racing with the boys result only being decided on the final lap of the final race. Iolo Dafydd won the under 10 boys champion with Sam Smith second and Charlie Barnwell third. Awen Roberts was another of the girls that gave the boys a lesson in racing and romped home with the under 10 title, with Bethany Bennett second and Malli Roberts third.

The fast times for the time trial was set by the under 12s’, 14s’ and 16s’ with Owain Roberts setting the record at 1 minute 17 seconds. He also came away with the title of under 14 boys club champion. Tomos King was a fantastic winner of the under 16 boys and was rewarded for his many years of riding and racing for the club. Under 12 boys champion was won by Guto Dafydd, with Cian Roberts second and James Oulsnam third. The girls mixed it up with the boys again with Ella Barnwell winning the under 14 girls, Eluned King winning the under 12 girls, Dani Parker second and Eva Edwards third.

Congratulations to all those who raced, making it a memorable day for all. The riders are now looking forward to the cyclo-cross season which starts with training at 9.30am in Carmarthen Park.

Results - here

Photos (Club members only) - here

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page